Skip Navigation
Menu

East Coast Shellfish Hatchery and Nursery Directory

This directory is intended to identify shellfish hatcheries and nurseries from along the east coast of the United States in order to serve as a tool for providing a stronger link between shellfish seed suppliers and shellfish farmers. The directory includes contact information for each business, as well as some additional information indicating the type of operation (i.e., hatchery, nursery, or research) and what products they expect to have available.

Also included below are the contact information for shellfish aquaculture Extension Agents and state agencies who are available as additional resources to support the shellfish aquaculture industry, including state-by-state guidance on shellfish importation regulations.

If there are any shellfish hatcheries or nurseries who wish to be added to this directory, then please complete the following online form:  https://go.rutgers.edu/6mf9fdch

This information appears with the understanding that no endorsement or discrimination by Rutgers Cooperative Extension is implied or intended. In addition, Rutgers Cooperative Extension does not warrant the performance of the seed, nor do we attest to the business practices of these companies.

Please contact us with any questions or recommended edits and additions:

Dr. Douglas Zemeckis, County Agent III (Assistant Professor), Ocean, Atlantic, and Monmouth Counties, Rutgers Cooperative Extension: zemeckis@njaes.rutgers.edu, 732-349-1152

Kelly Jurgensen, Marine Secretary, Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Ocean County: kjurgensen@co.ocean.nj.us, 732-349-1152

  1. HATCHERY AND NURSERY BUSINESSES
  2. STATE EXTENSION SHELLFISH AQUACULTURE CONTACTS
  3. STATE AGENCY SHELLFISH AQUACULTURE INFORMATION
BUSINESS DETAILS CONTACT INFORMATION SPECIES
MAINE    
Downeast Institute for Applied Marine Research and Education - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
PO Box 83
Beals, ME 04611
Kyle Pepperman
Phone - 207-259-5048
Kyle.pepperman@downeastinstitute.org
http://downeastinstitute.org
American Oysters, Hard Clams, Mussels, Softshell Clams, and Surf Clams
Mook Sea Farm - Hatchery
321 State Route 129
Walpole, ME 04573
William Mook
Phone - 855-563-1456
hello@mookseafarm.com
American Oysters and Microalgae Paste
Muscongus Bay Aquaculture - Hatchery
PO Box 204
Bremen, ME 04551
Tonie Simmons
Phone - 207-529-4100
Fax - 207-529-4104
tonie@muscongusbay.com
http://muscongusbay.com/
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, Hard Clams, Softshell Clams, and Surf Clams
MASSACHUSETTS    
Aquacultural Research Corporation - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
PO Box 2028
Dennis, MA 02638
Rick Sawyer
Phone - 508-385-3933
rick@archatchery.com
www.archatchery.com
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, and Hard Clams
Island Creek Oysters - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 348
Duxbury, MA 02331
Hannah Pearson
Phone - 781-934-2028 or 401-573-1223
pearson@islandcreekoysters.com
http://www.islandcreekoysters.com/
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, Hard Clams, and Surf Clams
Northeastern Massachusetts Aquaculture Center - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
Department of Biology
Salem State University
352 Lafayette Street
Salem, MA 01970
Scott Weston or Joe Buttner
Phone - 978-542-6821 or 978-542-6703
sweston@salemstate.edu
jbuttner@salemstate.edu
Softshell Clams
Salam State University - Hatchery and Research
Cat Cove Marine Laboratory
352 Lafayette Street
Salem, MA 01970
Scott Weston
Phone - 978-542-6821
sweston@salemstate.edu
http://salemstate.edu/catcove
Mussels, Soft Clams, and Surf Clams
Ward Aquafarms, LLC - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
73 Leonard Street West
Wareham, MA 02576
Dan Ward
Phone - 774-255-3030
dan@wardaquafarms.com
www.wardaquafarms.com
American Oysters and Bay Scallops
RHODE ISLAND    
East Beach Oyster Company - Nursery
1176 Post Road
Wakefield, RI 02879
Nick Papa
Phone - 401-649-0117
Eastbeachoysterco@gmail.com
http://www.eastbeachblondes.com/
American Oysters

Ocean State Oyster Hatchery - Hatchery and Nursery
1519 Commodore Perry Highway
Wakefield, RI 02879

Christian Durfee
Phone - 401-749-9941
ctdurfee@gmail.com

 

American Oysters and Hard Clams
Roger William University - Nursery and Research
One Old Ferry Road
Bristol, RI 02809
Rob Hudson
Phone - 401-254-3885
RHudson@rwu.edu
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, and Hard Clams
Salt Pond Oyster Company - Hatchery and Nursery
221 Borad Hill Way
Wakefield, RI 02879
Dave Roebuck
Phone - 401-741-5953
dave@saltpondoysters.com
www.saltpondoysters.com
American Oysters
CONNECTICUT    
Niantic Bay Shellfish Farm - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 106
Niantic, CT 06357
Timothy Londregan
Phone - 860-287-0770
timothy@nianticbayshellfishfarm.com
https://www.nianticbayshellfishfarm.com/
American Oysters and Bay Scallops
NEW YORK    
Aeros Cultured Oyster Company Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 964
Southold, NY 11971
Karen Rivara
Phone/Fax - 631-765-1808
keeno59@optonline.net
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, and Hard Clams
Cornell Cooperative Extension of Suffolk County - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
3690 Cedar Beach Road
Southold, NY 11971
Gregg Rivara
Phone - 631-852-8660 Ext. 35
Fax - 631-852-8662
GJR3@cornell.edu
http://ccesuffolk.org/marine/aquaculture
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, Hard Clams, and Ribbed Mussels
Conservation and research facility only.
No commercial sales.
East Hampton Town Shellfish Hatchery - Hatchery
159 Pantigo Road
East Hampton, NY 11937
John "Barley" Dunne, Director
Phone - 631-668-4601 Ext. 7901
Cell - 631-461-0458
jdunne@ehamptonny.gov
www.ehamptonny.gov
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, and Hard Clams (limited sales of OY only)
Fishers Island Oyster Farm, Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 402
Fishers Island, NY 06390
Steve Malinowski
Phone - 631-788-7889
steve@fishersislandoysters.com https://www.fishersislandoysters.com/
American Oysters
Harbor Lights Oyster Company - Hatchery and Nursery
200 Harbor Lights Drive
Southold, NY 11971
Theodore Bucci
Phone - 631-740-0985
ted@harborlightsoysterco.com
https://www.harborlightsoysterco.com/
American Oysters
Hart Lobster - Hatchery
17 Amelia Place
West Sayville, NY 11796
William Hart
Phone - 631-877-1694
hartlobster@aol.com
American Oysters and Sugar Kelp
Town of Hempstead Shellfish Hatchery - Hatchery, Nursery and Research
PO Box 180
Point Lookout, NY 11569
Stephen Naham
Phone - 516-897-4112
snaham@tohmail.org
www.hempsteadny.gov
American Oysters, Hard Clams, and Sugar Kelp Conservation and research facility only.
No commercial sales.
Town of Islip Shellfish Culture Facility - Hatchery and Nursery
401 Main Street
Islip, NY 11751
Martin Byrnes
Phone - 631-595-3680
mbyrnes@islipny.gov
American Oysters, Hard Clams, and Sugar Kelp
NEW JERSEY    

Bayfarm, Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
103 Cestone Court
West Creek, NJ 08092

John Schriever
Phone - 609-432-3956
bayfarmnj@comcast.net

American Oysters and Hard Clams
Bayside Shellfish - Hatchery and Nursery
788 Stone Harbor Boulevard
Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
Luke Williams
Phone - 609-374-2287
luke@baysideshellfish.com
American Oysters and Hard Clams
Bill Avery's Quality Bay Clams, LLC - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
741 Great Creek Road
Galloway, NJ 08205
William Avery
Cell - 609-226-6935 or 609-748-8881
wavery57@ix.netcom.com
Hard Clams
Clam Daddy's - Hatchery and Nursery
1204 East Shore Drive
Brigantine, NJ 08203
Bill Mayer
Phone - 609-266-0677
clamdaddys@comcast.net
www.clamdaddys.com
Hard Clams
Intracoastal Aquaculture - Hatchery and Nursery
36 My Way
Tuckerton, NJ 08087
Jerry Zodl
Phone - 609-618-3517
jczodl@comcast.net
http://clamseed.com/
Hard Clams
Rutgers University Cape Shore Lab - Research
297 South Delsea Drive
Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
Samual Ratcliff
Phone - 609-463-0633
samratcl@hsrl.rutgers.edu
http://hsrl.rutgers.edu/about/capeshore.htm
 
DELAWARE    
Delaware Cultured Seafood, Inc. - Nursery
28517 Warwick Road
Millsboro, DE 19966
Nursery Manager
Phone - 302-OYS-TER1 or 302-697-8371
sales@delawareoysters.com
www.delawareoysters.com
American Oysters
University of Delaware - Sea Grant - Research
700 Pilottown Road
Lewes, DE 19958
Edward Hale
Phone - 392-645-4060
ehale@udel.edu
American Oysters and Hard Clams
MARYLAND    

38º North, LLC - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 2
Scotland, MD 20687

JD Blackwell
Phone - 240-298-1295
jd@38northoysters.com
www.38northoysters.com

American Oysters
Ferry Cove Shellfish - Hatchery and Nursery
21770 Lowes Wharf Road
Sherwood, MD 21665
Stephan Abel or Steven Weschler
Phone - 667-458-7992
info@ferrycove.org
www.ferrycove.org
American Oysters
Hoopers Island Oyster Company - Hatchery and Nursery
837 Chesapeake Drive - Unit B
Cambridge, MD 21613
Natalie Ruark
Phone - 410-397-3364
nruark@hoopersisland.com
https://hoopersisland.com/
American Oysters
Moonstruck Oyster Company - Nursery
43765 Little Cliffs Road
Hollywood, MD 20636
Bob Parkinson
Phone - 301-751-2114
bobparkinson@hughes.net
oysterbob11@gmail.com
American Oysters
Morgan State University Patuxent Environmental and Aquatic Research Lab (PEARL) - Research
10545 Mackall Road
Saint Leonard, MD 20685
Brittany Wolfe-Bryant or Ming Liu
Phone - 443-885-5907 or 443-885-5922
brittany.wolfe@morgan.edu
ming.liu@morgan.edu
https://www.morgan.edu/pearl
American Oysters
Piney Point Aquaculture Center - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
17996 Piney Point Road
PO Box 150
Piney Point, MD 20674
James Dumhart
Phone - 301-994-0241
Cell - 443-758-7595
james.dumhart@maryland.gov
amanda.ault@maryland.gov
https://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/Pages/hatcheries/shellfish.aspx
American Oysters

Shore Thing Shellfish, LLC - Nursery
PO Box 74
Tall Timbers, MD 20690

Brian Russell
Phone - 240-538-1336
shorethingshellfish@gmail.com

American Oysters
University of Maryland - Hatchery and Nursery
Center for Environmental Science
Horn Point Lab
2020 Horns Point Road
Cambridge, MD 21613
Stephanie Alexander
Phone - 410-221-8310
Hatchery - 410-221-8357
Fax - 410-221-8456
tobash@umces.edu
http://hatchery.hpl.umces.edu/
American Oysters
VIRGINIA    
Bagwell Enterprises Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 508
Eastville, VA 23347
Yvonne Bagwell
Phone - 757-678-5806
Fax - 757-678-7329
clammom@gmail.com
Hard Clams
Bay Watch Oyster Seeds, LLC - Nursery
PO Box 535
271 Bay Watch Lane
Reedville, VA 22539
Keith Rodgers
Phone - 804-453-4367 or 804-516-9205
baywatchoysterseeds@nnwifi.com
baywatchoysterseeds@gmail.com
www.baywatchoysterseeds.com
American Oysters
Cherrystone Aqua Farms - Hatchery and Nursery
1588 Townfield Drive
Cape Charles, VA 23310
Tim Rapine
Phone - 757-331-1208
timr@clamandoyster.com
http://www.clamandoyster.com
American Oysters and Hard Clams
JC Walker Brothers - Hatchery
PO Box 10
Willis Wharf, VA 23486
Ellen Walker/Ann Gallivan
Phone - 757-442-6000
Fax - 757-442-7059
seasideclams@gmail.com
www.jcwalkerbrosclams.com
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, and Hard Clams
KCB Oyster Holdings - Hatchery
755 Lake Landing Drive
Lottsburg, VA 22511
A.J. Erskine/Liz Walker
Phone - 804-529-6654
Fax - 804-529-7374
ajerskine@bevansoyster.net
American Oysters
Oyster Seed Holdings, Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 397
Grimstead, VA 23064
Michael Congrove
Phone - 804-725-3046
Fax - 804-725-3047
info@oysterseedholdings.com
www.oshoyster.com
American Oysters
Ward Oyster Company - Hatchery and Nursery
6578 Jarvis Road
Gloucester, VA 23061
John Vigliotta
Phone - 804-693-0044 or 609-647-8389
Fax- 804-693-0581
johnv@wardoyster.com
chris.jed.smith@gmail.com
https://wardoyster.com/
American Oysters and Hard Clams
NORTH CAROLINA    
Chadwick Creek Oysters and Nursery - Nursery
418 Live Oak Drive
Bayboro, NC 28515
Chris Matteo
Phone - 919-360-2278
chris@chadwickcreek.com
www.chadwickcreek.com
American Oysters
Down East Mariculture Supply Co., LLC - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 421
Smyrna, NC 28579
Susan Hill
Phone - 252-204-1134 or 252-723-1333
slfhill@gmail.com
heyrobert@gmail.com
https://www.downeastmariculture.com/
American Oysters
Millpoint Aquaculture/Morris Family Shellfish Farms - Hatchery and Nursery
223 Shell Hill Road
Sea Level, NC 28577
James Morris
Phone - 252-342-7452 or 252-515-0214
millpointaquaculture@gmail.com
www.morrisfamilyshellfish.com
American Oysters and Hard Clams
UNCW Shellfish Research Hatchery - Hatchery and Research
SRH Center for Marine Science
University of North Carolina Wilmington
5600 Marvin K Moss Lane
Wilmington, NC 28409
Amy Finelli
Phone - 910-962-3530
Fax - 910-960-2410
finellia@uncw.edu
American Oysters, Bay Scallops, Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams
SOUTH CAROLINA    
Mayflower International Ltd. - Nursery
5 Yeamans Road
Charleston, SC 29407
William Quinby
Phone - 857-222-6664
mayflower@mindspring.com
American Oysters
GEORGIA    
University of Georgia Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant Hatchery - Hatchery and Research
Shellfish Research Laboratory
20 Ocean Science Circle
Savannah, GA 31411
Tom Bliss
Phone - 912-598-2348 Ext. 205
tbliss@uga.edu
https://gacoast.uga.edu/
American Oysters
FLORIDA    
Algafeed - Hatchery and Nursery
3125 Jupiter Park Circle - Unit #2
Jupiter, FL 33458
Max Wulff Rodriguez
Phone - 833-254-2348
sales@algafeed.com
mwulff@algafeed.com
www.algafeed.com
Live Algae Feed
Bay Shellfish Company - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
PO Box 289
Terra Ceia, FL 34250
Curt Hemmel
Phone - 727-309-1269
curt@bayshellfish.com
www.bayshellfish.com
Blood Arks, Bay Scallops, Hard Clams, Microalgae Systems, Southern Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams

Clamtastic Seafood, Inc. - Hatchery and Nursery
PO Box 517
Cedar Key, FL 32625

Chris Topping
Phone - 352-213-5999 or 352-543-5678
clamtastic2000@yahoo.com
http://clamtasticseafood.com/
Hard Clams

Cutthroat Clams, LLC - Nursery
5185 Curlew Drive
Saint James City, FL 33956

Anthony Heeb
Phone - 239-233-5800
Cutthroatclams@gmail.com
Cutthroatclams.com

Hard Clams, Southern Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams
Great Florida Shellfish Company - Hatchery, Nursery, and Research
72 Azalea Circle
Tequesta, FL 33469
Tom McCrudden
Phone - 561-702-8159
raiclams@bellsouth.net http://thegreatfloridashellfishcompany.com
American Oysters, Blood Arks, Hard Clams, Southern Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams
Orchid Island Shellfish Company - Nursery and Research
633 Old Dixie Highway
Sebastian, FL 32958
Ed Mangano
Cell - 772-913-0053
Fax - 772-589-5080
aquagemfarms@aol.com
pineapplecottages@gmail.com
American Oysters, Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams
Seaventure Clam Company - Hatchery and Research
5600 North US Highway 1, ACTED
Fort Pierce, FL 34946
Victoria Parks
Phone - 833-732-8368 or 386-481-4776
tori@seaventuresgroup.com
carolina@seaventuresgroup.com
www.seaventureclamco.com
Hard Clams
The Florida Oyster Trading Company
1050 Palisade Road
Pensacola, FL 32504
Josh Neese
Phone - 850-512-0024
jtneese@floystertradingco.com
American Oysters
Two Docks Shellfish, LLC - Hatchery and Nursery
208 Rouse Road
Fort Pierce, FL 34946
Brendyn Meisinger
Phone - 443-624-2948
tdshatchery@gmail.com
http://www.twodocksshellfish.com/
American Oysters, Hard Clams, and Sunray Venus Clams
ALABAMA    
Double D Oyster Nursery - Nursery
2830 Lawrence Steiner Road
Theodore, AL 36582
Doug Ankerson
Phone - 251-591-7346
dougankersen@bellsouth.net
https://www.doubledoyster.com/
American Oysters
Navy Cover Oysters - Nursery and Research 152 Fig Avenue
Fairhope, AL 36532
Charles Wilson
225-892-6886
chuck.navycoveoysters@gmail.com
cwilsonlsu@gmail.com
https://navycoveoysters.com/
American Oysters

 

STATE EXTENSION SHELLFISH AQUACULTURE CONTACTS
MAINE NEW HAMPSHIRE MASSACHUSETTS
Brian Beal
Phone - 207-255-1314
bbeal@maine.edu
Dr. Michael Chambers
Phone - 603-862-3394
michael.chambers@unh.edu
Abigail Archer
Phone - 508-375-6702 aarcher@barnstablecounty.org
Dana Morse
Phone - 207-563-8186 dana.morse@maine.edu
  Dr. Joe Buttner
Phone - 978-542-6703 jbuttner@salemstate.edu
    Joshua Reitsma
Phone - 508-375-6950 jreitsma@barnstablecounty.org
RHODE ISLAND CONNECTICUT NEW YORK
Azure Cygler
Phone - 401-874-6179
acygler@uri.edu
Tessa Getchis
Phone - 860-367-4602
tessa.getchis@uconn.edu
Wade Carden
Phone - 631-444-0481
wade.carden@dec.ny.gov
Dr. Michael Rice
Phone - 401-874-2943
rice@uri.edu
  Gregg Rivara
Phone - 631-852-8660 Ext. 35 gjr3@cornell.edu
Skylar Young
Phone - 401-254-3047
syoung-bayer@rwu.edu
   
NEW JERSEY DELAWARE MARYLAND
Lisa Calvo
Phone - 856-391-7657
lcalvo@hsrl.rutgers.edu
Edward Hale
Phone - 302-645-4060
ehale@udel.com
Don Webster
Phone - 410-827-8056 Ext. 127
dwebster@umd.edu
Dr. Douglas Zemeckis
Phone - 732-349-1152
zemeckis@njaes.rutgers.edu
Zina Hense
Phone - 302-735-2960
Zina.Hense@delaware.gov
 
  Dr. Dennis McIntosh
Phone - 302-857-6456
dmcintosh@desu.edu
 
VIRGINIA NORTH CAROLINA SOUTH CAROLINA
Karen Hudson
Phone - 804-684-7742
khudson@vims.edu
Eric Herbst
Phone - 252-222-6314
echerbst@nscu.edu
Graham Gaines
Phone - 843-470-5109
graham.gaines@scseagrant.org
GEORGIA FLORIDA  
Tom Bliss
Phone - 912-598-2348
tbliss@uga.edu
Leslie Sturmer
Phone - 352-543-5057
LNST@ufl.edu
 

 

STATE AGENCY SHELLFISH AQUACULTURE CONTACT INFORMATION
MAINE
Department of Marine Resources - Aquaculture Division
Phone - 207-624-6550
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Fish and Game Department
Phone - 603-271-3421
MASSACHUSETTS
Division of Marine Fisheries

Christian Petitpas, Ph.D., Aquaculture Coordinator
Phone - 508-742-9766
christian.petitpas@mass.gov
RHODE ISLAND
Department of Environmental Management - Marine Fisheries
Phone - 401-423-1923
CONNECTICUT
Department of Agriculture - Bureau of Aquaculture

Phone - 203-874-0696
NEW YORK
Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Marine Resources

Phone - 631-444-0481
NEW JERSEY
Department of Environmental Protection - Bureau of Shellfisheries

Phone - 609-748-2040
DELAWARE
Division of Fish and Wildlife

Phone - 302-739-4782
MARYLAND
Department of Natural Resources

Phone - 410-260-8252
VIRGINIA
Marine Resources Commission

Phone - 757-247-2200
NORTH CAROLINA
Division of Marine Fisheries
Phone - 252-726-7021
SOUTH CAROLINA
Department of Natural Resources

Phone - 843-953-9391
GEORGIA
Department of Natural Resources - Coastal Resources Division

Phone - 912-264-7218
FLORIDA
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Aquaculture

Phone - 850-617-7600